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Estimate of Fiscal Impact 
 FY 2018-19 FY 2019-20 
State Expenditure   

General Fund $0 $0 
Other and Federal $0 $0 
Full-Time Equivalent Position(s) 0.00 0.00 

State Revenue   
General Fund $0 Undetermined 
Other and Federal $0 $0 

Local Expenditure $0 $0 
Local Revenue $0 $0 

 
Fiscal Impact Summary 
This bill will have no expenditure impact on the General Fund, Other Funds, or Federal Funds as 
the bill requires the Department of Insurance (DOI) and the Department of Consumer Affairs to 
perform activities within the normal course of agency business.  The revenue impact on the 
General Fund beginning in FY 2019-20 is undetermined since data is not available to determine 
the number of security breach notices that occurred in prior years due to an entity not having a 
comprehensive information security program in place.  This bill will have no impact on Other or 
Federal Fund revenues. 

Explanation of Fiscal Impact 

Amended by House Labor, Commerce, and Industry on February 6, 2018  
State Expenditure 
This bill adds Chapter 99 to Title 38 to enact the South Carolina Insurance Data Security Act.  
The bill authorizes the DOI director to promulgate regulations necessary for the administration 
of this new chapter.  The bill requires insurers, insurance brokers, and insurance producers to 
develop, implement, and maintain a comprehensive written information security program based 
on the licensee’s risk assessment that contains administrative, technical, and physical safeguards 
for the protection of nonpublic information.  The licensee’s information security program must 
be designed to protect the security and confidentiality of nonpublic information, protect against 
threats or hazards to the security or integrity of nonpublic information, protect against 
unauthorized access to or use of nonpublic information, and define and periodically reevaluate a 
schedule for retention of nonpublic information.  A licensee domiciled in this state must submit a 
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written statement to the DOI director no later than February 15 annually certifying that the 
insurer is in compliance with the requirements of this bill.  If the licensee learns that a 
cybersecurity event has occurred or may have occurred, the licensee, an outside vendor, or 
service provider designated to act on behalf of the licensee must conduct a prompt investigation 
of the event.  A licensee must notify the DOI director no later than seventy-two hours after 
determining that a cybersecurity event has occurred if South Carolina is the licensee’s state of 
domicile in the case of an insurer, or the licensee’s home state in the case of a producer or the 
licensee reasonably believes that the nonpublic information involved is of no less than 250 
consumers residing in this state and the cybersecurity event meets certain criteria.  A licensee 
must comply with the notice requirements of Section 39-1-90 and any other applicable law and 
provide a copy of the notice sent to consumers to the director of DOI when the licensee is 
required to notify the director.  Licensees who violate the provisions of this bill are subject to 
penalties as provided in Section 38-2-10.  Licensees with fewer than ten employees, an employee 
agent, representative or designee of a licensee who is also a licensee, and licensees subject to the 
Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act, Pub.L. 104-191, 110 Stat. 1936 are exempt 
from the provisions of this bill.  Further, licensees have until July 1, 2019, to implement Section 
38-99-20 of this bill, which requires licensees to develop, implement, and maintain the 
information security program.  Licensees have until July 1, 2020, to implement Section 38-99-
20(F) of this bill, which requires licensees to exercise due diligence in selecting its third-party 
service providers and requires a third-party provider to implement secure information systems.  
 
The Department of Insurance.  DOI indicates that the bill requires the agency to perform 
activities within the normal course of agency business.  Therefore, the bill would have no 
expenditure impact on the General Fund, Other Funds, or Federal Funds.  
 
Department of Consumer Affairs.  This bill requires insurance licensees to comply with the 
consumer notification requirements imposed under Section 39-1-90.  The department indicates 
that Section 39-1-90 currently applies to all individuals and organizations conducting business in 
the state.  The bill does not alter current responsibilities of the department and will therefore 
have no expenditure impact on the General Fund, Other Funds, or Federal Funds. 

State Revenue 
The bill requires insurers, insurance brokers, and insurance producers to develop, implement, and 
maintain a comprehensive written information security program based on the licensee’s risk 
assessment that contains administrative, technical, and physical safeguards for the protection of 
nonpublic information.  Licensees must comply with the notice requirements pursuant to Section 
39-1-90.  Licensees who violate the provisions of this bill are subject to penalties as provided in 
Section 38-2-10.   
 
Section 39-1-90(H), which pertains to noncompliance of notice requirements regarding breach of 
security of business data, allows an administrative fine in the amount of $1,000 per resident 
whose information was accessible by reason of breach.  Section 39-1-90(H) currently includes 
individuals or organizations who conduct business in this state and own, license, or maintain 
computerized data or other data that includes personal identifying information.  Since Section 
39-1-90 currently applies to all individuals and organizations in this state, this portion of the bill 
will have no revenue impact on the General Fund, Other Funds, or Federal Funds.   
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A licensee who violates the provisions of this bill is subject to penalties as provided in Section 
38-2-10.  The administrative fine ranges from an amount not to exceed $15,000 to an amount not 
to exceed $30,000 if the violator is an insurer or a health maintenance organization.  The 
administrative fine ranges from an amount not to exceed $2,500 to an amount not to exceed 
$5,000 if the violator is a person, other than an insurer or a health maintenance organization.  
These penalties are in addition to any criminal penalties provided by law or any other remedies 
provided by law.  Also, the administrative proceedings do not preclude civil or criminal 
proceedings from taking place before, during, or after the administrative proceeding.  These 
administrative penalties are credited to the General Fund.  Based upon data provided by the 
Department of Consumer Affairs, there were approximately nine security breach notices reported 
in this state by insurance companies in 2016.  Data is not available to determine the number of 
breaches that occurred due to an entity not having a comprehensive information security program 
in place.  Therefore, the increase in General Fund revenue beginning in FY 2019-20 due to 
additional administrative fines for violations pursuant to Section 38-2-10 is undetermined.  

Local Expenditure 
N/A 

Local Revenue 
N/A 
 
 


